Importance of sad in musicals

Besides joy, sad is another common musical emotion. It is a hard emotion to work with, but it an emotion that can leave an amazing impact on you. If is wasn’t for joy, sad may not be worth feeling. Growing up with comedies, the basis of sad was created through them. It was one of the most common but one of the slowest developing emotions. I though it was fully developed growing up, but I soon was to learn that it wasn’t the case. I really believed all musicals would be comedies even after learning about the genre of tragedy. There was no proof to know that some musicals would turn out to be tragedies. But I soon found out that tragedies are part of musicals.

One of the tragic musicals has played such a big part of my life. It is still so fresh in my life, but it has taught me a lot since I had fallen in love with it. “Les Mis” impacted me in such a way that I had never felt before. I really thought I would hate tragedies and that they were not an option in musicals. “Les Mis” is a very sad musical because of the huge amount of death and misery. There is heartbreak, abuse, prostitution, injustice, which takes place in a rough time period in France. This musical took sad a step further and turned that emotion into an extremely powerful and strong one instead of a more limited one. “Les Mis” is not the only meaningful sad musical. The other one that has meaning is “Rent”. Despite the poverty and the HIV/AIDS, the characters still live life to the fullest. There is another sad musical that I like, but is not that meaningful. It is “West Side Story”, a modern retelling of “Romeo and Juliet”. The show reminds me of what I grew up with. It has the fun costumes and dance, but it still is a tragic story.

Despite the fact that sad musicals are not common, they still play a huge role in the history of musical theatre. As far as I know, all of them have been successful.

Sad has always been this common emotion, which is how I know how important the emotion is. I do not love a song just on emotion. Just because a song is sad does not been you shouldn’t like it. I can barely relate to the sad songs, but it is through joy which allows be to love them. When it comes to the negative emotions, they are hard to work with, but if you learn to accept them, they create a lasting impression. Sad is one of the most beautiful emotions in musicals.

Sad is just as important as joy is, but joy will always be stronger. That is because joy is the only emotion that can make feeling a negative emotion worth it. Having both positive and negative emotions in a musical score makes characters very real because people need both positive and negative emotions in their life. Some musical characters do not find happiness much, but once in a while feel happy.

Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

Leave a Reply

