MLK Day Service

Yesterday was Martin Luther King remembrance day. The thing that stood out to be the most was the service that my college was doing. I went to Miracle Hill with my club and the women’s volleyball team. My club usually goes there to serve lunch, but this time it was different. We volunteered longer and there was more meaning due to what this day represents.

This large group was split up into three groups. It was nice volunteering with people other than Campus Civitan. I usually volunteer mainly with Civitan and I love giving back to the club I call my family. I was the only member of my club in the group I was split up in, but it was nice getting to know other Gardner Webb University students. We had to organize and hang up clothes. We had to make sure that everything was in the right spot. We had to hang up women’s clothing in the women’s section and the men’s clothing in the men’s section. This area of Miracle Hill provides clothing to the clients that are currently living at Miracle Hill.

Serving on MLK makes Martin Luther King JR’s legacy continue. Hate can drive out hate, only love can do that. Violence cannot drive out violence, only kindness can do that. He believes in a better world and that is what he did on this special day. We helped give back to the community and that makes a large difference on someone’s life. I have a deep connection to those who are less fortunate than I and that I was why I joined Campus Civitan, a service club. The more love, kindness, and compassion we show, the more fixed this broken world will be.

Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

Leave a Reply

