Meaning of “Wicked”

The musical, “Wicked”, means a lot to me and there are no words to describe it. It is the best musical in its own unique way. I fully relate to the main character and the story. I look up to Elphaba because I see parts of her in me. This show was the first musical I saw in New York and it was a date with my mom.I still cannot believe I first saw it in 2006 when I was 12. That is hard to believe, but glad that I still love it. “Wicked” is the musical of everything and it has everything that I think of when I think musical.

The main character, Elphaba, has many similarities to me. Just like her I am a smart, determined, big-hearted girl who knows what it is like to be “different” and I believe in equality and staying true to myself. Just like her, I want to be accepted for who I am, but sometimes feel misunderstood by my peers and once in awhile, my friends. That is special to be able to find a musical character that you can fully relate. Elphaba is one of the main reasons why I love “Wicked” so much and she is my favorite musical theatre character. I also relate to the story’s theme of friendship. Everyone knows how special friends are and how they can make you a better person.

I say “Wicked” is the show of everything because of what it is capable of. It is a magical, fantasy, spectacle and dance filled musical comedy with a positive and negative score. “Wicked” is the best musical comedy, even though it is not the only show that is at the top spot for favorite musical. “Wicked” will always be spectacular and for the longest time, I felt like nothing could ever come close. But “Les Mis” tied a couple years ago.

Everything about the show feels Ozian. The moment you enter the theatre, you feel like you are in OZ. The curtain is a map of the country and at the top of the set there is this wonderful dragon. They way the dance and the spectacle makes you know you are in OZ. The songs also make you feel like you are transported to OZ.

I have gained so much about the show over the years. I saw it three times already and it still is spectacular. Last year was a very important time of my journey with “Wicked”. In my acting class, I did a monologue on Elphaba. I realized she was stronger than I thought she was. I learned more of how much Glinda means to her. I eventually performed “Popular” for my acting class, which has been my favorite song from the musical since I was 12. Later that year, I decided to memorize one of Elphaba’s solos. I decided to pick “I’m Not That Girl”, which is a sad song about unrequited love. Since 2006, I know it was a sad song, but the song strengthened and gained more depth. The song turned out to be sadder than I originally believed. Now when I listen to the song, I feel the song deeper than before.

Overall, “Wicked” is my favorite musical comedy. It has the spectacle, dance, positive and negative score and a storyline I can care about. It is hard to believe how much meaning “Wicked” has to me over these ten years. Whenever I think of musicals, I automatically think of a comedy that has a positive and negative score, spectacle and dance and a strong emotional connection . “Wicked” has all of those characteristics and it is the show I usually have shows live up to.

Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

Leave a Reply

