The Importance of Joy in Musicals

In my opinion, Joy is the strongest emotion in musicals. It is the only emotion that can connect to every emotion including the negative emotions. The joy I am talking about is the joy you are given. My perspective of joy is quite confusing. Some people do not get the connection of joy to the negative emotions.

Growing up, the only musicals I know about were happy ones. Despite them all being happy, sad was one of the emotions.  The happy musicals reached a point where they had to transition to all musicals to most musicals. That is because tragic musicals started becoming part of my life. I never know of their existence for a long time, but so glad I discovered them. “Les Mis” is one of those tragic musicals, but I learned so much from it and I have joy feeling all of its negative emotions. When the sad musicals became part of my life, I changed all musicals from being happy to all musicals being joyful.

Sad is a very beautiful emotion. That emotion is mainly communicated through song. If you love the song, than you have joy feeling the emotions. The joy you are given is the only emotion that can allow you to truthfully appreciate a negative emotion. The hardest emotion I had to work with is uncomfortable, but I learned to tolerate it. The best musical scores tend to have at least one sad song.

Naturally, feeling the negative emotions does not feel good at all. But the theatre is a safe place to feel them. I am sort of picky in how I feel those kind of emotions. I want to feel the negative emotions in a way that makes the experience worth it. In musicals, the negative emotions are handled nicely due to the songs. All of the sad songs are beautiful songs and you only think about the emotion of the song when listening to it. But if you love the song, than you had joy feeling the emotion.

The positive emotions automatically have joy in them. That is because they are emotions you like feeling. Joy and excitement are the first emotions you feel in musicals due to the overture. That means they are emotions that drive the show. I know this through experience. Joy will always be stronger than sad because sad cannot drive a show. If that was the case, it means you are not loving the show and feeling sad would not work at all.

Joy explains everything. It lets you know whether or not you love the show. It tells you which characters and songs you love. It makes the negative emotions worth feeling. In musicals, it is hard to understand why joy connects to sad. Based on my experiences, I understand why that is.

Joy and sad are inseparable. You cannot have one without the other. That is why the most successful musicals have both. When I see a new musical, I hope there is at least one sad song. Having both makes a character more real and more developed. The negative emotions may not feel good, but joy allows you to appreciate feeling that emotion. The happy musicals formed the basis for that emotion growing up. “Les Mis’ made sad stronger and more powerful and it still has joy in it.  I am so glad there are both happy and sad musicals in existence.

 

Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

Leave a Reply

