Presence of God

There are many ways to feel connected to God. There are two ways I feel the closest to him. That is through  volunteering, nature and Christian music. I have always loved nature and always felt his presence. That is part of why I love hiking so much and the view is when his presence is the strongest. The sunsets at Gardner Webb University are gorgeous and has a wonderful lake. Even feeling the breeze of the wind makes me know he is with me during my wonderful college journey. We are made to feel connected to God through nature.

The other strong way I feel God’s presence is through Christian music. The interest started at Kanuga, an Episcopalian conference center, in Hendersonville, NC. Every time my family went, we would be singing Christian songs. Eventually I developed a love for Christian music. That was in high school when I attended a high-school youth conference called Winterlight at Kanuga. The energy I felt was very youthful and I discovered my favorite Christian song at that event. In high school, Christian music helped me when I was down. Eventually I transferred to Gardner Webb and I made a commitment to make it to the Gathering, a student-led worship service, every week. The songs are quite different, but God’s presence is there as well. Once again there is a youthful energy surrounding the room.

Volunteering is another place to feel God’s presence. He wants us to give back to those in need. I volunteered my whole life. I would volunteer at Room in the Inn or Stop Hunger Now. I soon volunteered at Loaves and Fishes. In high school, I realized that I have a deep connection to those living in poverty and homelessness. I wanted to make it a bigger commitment to volunteer more often. I still volunteered mainly through my church. I find ways to volunteer at school, which is why I joined Campus Civitan, a volunteer club at Gardner Webb. Through Civitan, we have volunteered at a shelter, Special Olympics, Relay for Life and Others.

God’s presence is always with us even if we do not feel close to him. Feeling his presence is very important. It keeps us going in the right direction and makes us better people.Feeling his presence can  be difficult, but there are multiple ways to know he is always with us. Even praying is useful and there is no wrong way to do that. I pray through writing, which works for me. I know he is always with me because I have a stronger spirituality than I used to. Spirituality can always get stronger if you continue to be compassionate and faithful towards God and other people.

Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

Leave a Reply

