Frozen and Wicked

“Frozen” and “Wicked” are two different musicals, but they are so very similar. I noticed this connection after I saw the movie, “Frozen”, for the first time. I see similarities between two of the characters and the relationship among them.

Anna from “Frozen” is the outgoing sister. That is very similar to who Glinda is, but there is still a difference. Glinda is funny, but just like Anna she has the outgoing personality. Anna acts before she thinks and is the younger sister. There is a bigger similarity between Elsa and Elphaba. Both Elsa and Elphaba have magical powers that they have a hard time controlling and they are both misunderstood. The friendship between Elphaba and Glinda is very similar to the sister relationship between Elsa and Anna.

Another big similarity is how similar the songs “Let it Go” and “Defying Gravity all. It has nothing to do with the fact that Idina Menzel originated both Elsa and Elphaba. Those two songs are exactly just as powerful and happens during a breathtaking moment. They also are almost about the exact same thing. “Defying Gravity” is the moment when Elphaba flies for the first time and finally finds a use for her powers. Elphaba decides to stay more true to herself. In “Let it Go”, the same thing basically happens. In that song, Elsa finally gets to be who she is and makes an ice castle by using her powers.

I think the reason why I ended up loving “Frozen” was because of how much it reminded me of “Wicked”. Because of my strong love for “Wicked”, it makes sense why I love “Frozen” like I do. “Frozen” is basically a simpler version of “Wicked”, but at the same there are still obvious differences.

Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

Leave a Reply

