Christianity of Narnia

One of my favorite movie series is “The Chronicles of Narnia”. One of the things I love about them is how Christian they are. Each of them has things that represent Christ. I ended up watching “The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe last night and that is where I know what the Christian elements are.

I see Aslan as Christ because that is who he is. He has the power to destroy the white witch and loves unconditionally. Aslan died to save Edmund just like Christ died to save us from our sins. Aslan also died a violent death which is similar to Christ’s. Just like Jesus, Aslan rose again.

The White Witch is very similar to Satan. She wanted to stop the prophecy from coming true and to do that she wanted to kill Peter, Susan, Edmund, and Lucy. She first tried to do that by tempting Edmund when she first met him. She had him sit with her under a warm coat and gave him something to eat and drink. She than pointed out where her house is. She was very manipulative, which made Edmund believe she was the good guy. Later Edmund actually walked to the white witch’s house and doing that made him bait. The siblings realized what he had done and why the white witch wanted all four of them. Edmund was captured by the white witch and he realized that she was really the bad guy. Edmund saw how she was turning animals into stone. The white witch left Narnia in an eternal snow and wanted to rule Narnia forever.

There is a deep magic that is always talked about in this movie. I think the deep magic is love. Love has the power to heal and makes humans feel connected. Because of Christ’s love for us, he is always able to forgive us for our sins. Love encourages humans to do the right thing and makes us compassionate towards the needs of others. Another sign of Christianity in the movie is the lamppost. For the longest time, I did not know what it meant. I think the lamppost represents the light of Christ. The light of Christ can give us hope in the darkest of times and also in the lightest of times. Also the wardrobe was inscribed with the tree of knowledge.

Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

Leave a Reply

