“The Impossible Dream”

“To dream the impossible dream, to fight the unbeatable foe, to bear with unbearable sorrow, to run where the brave dare not go”

Those above lyrics are from the song, “The Impossible Dream”, which is from  the musical, “Man of La Mancha”. For a Spanish project, I had to research the character and book, Don Quixote. Don Quixote is an interesting character because he is both tragic and comic, and that is the first time I found a literary character who is like that. The musical, “Man of La Mancha” is based off of the book, Don Quixote.

The musical is basically a show within a show. I saw the movie version of the musical last night. It starts with Miguel de Cervantes being arrested and in the dungeon, he arranges for the other prisoners to take part in a show, which is based off his book, Don Quixote. Miguel de Cervantes ended up playing the part of Don Quixote. He was an incredible Don Quixote because he truly acted like a knight errant. On Don Quixote’s deathbed, I almost cried. The actor who played Don Quixote’s squire was also lovely and always was there for his master. The actress who played Aldonza was also amazing.

One of the confusing parts about “Man of La Mancha” is that there are two beginnings and two endings. That is mainly because it is a story within a story. The first beginning starts when Cervantes and his assistant are putting together a show. The second beginning is when Cervantes starts describing who Don Quixote is. The first ending is when Don Quixote dies and the second ending is when Cervantes leaves the dungeon.

The sets were lovely, which convinced me that it was Spain. It also had a good collection of songs. Some of the songs stood out more than the others, which included the best song, “The Impossible Dream”. After seeing the movie, the musical ended up being meaningful to me because the character of Don Quixote already meant something to  me. He fascinates me because of his comic and tragic nature. There is a huge difference between tragic and comic elements coming together separately versus the two elements coming together in one character.

Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

Leave a Reply

