Wizard of OZ

Yesterday, the movie, “The Wizard of OZ”, was on television. I watched it and still cannot believe I first watched this movie in my childhood. I love the land of OZ so much. But last night, some parts were really difficult to watch because of my special love for the musical, “Wicked”. I was confused on the Wicked Witch of the West in “Wizard of OZ”. In “Wizard of OZ”, she is ugly and extremely evil with a terrifying laugh. That is not how I want to view her at all. But in “Wicked”, the Wicked Witch of the West, Elphaba, is pretty throughout the entire musical and is not quite as evil as the one in “Wizard of OZ”. I felt as if they are two different witches because of the way they are portrayed.I would rather spend time with Elphaba in “Wicked” instead of “Wizard of OZ”.

In “Wicked”, Elphaba is smart, determined, hardworking, different, has a big heart, and truly believes in staying true to herself. She is not scared to stand up for what she believes in. She is a very strong character despite the fact that she was always discriminated against. That pattern has been going on since she was born. Her father hates her because she is green and he believes that it is her fault that her sister, Nessa, came out disabled and that her mother died. She learns about friendship and love through Glinda and Fiyero. Glinda was her only friend, which changed her “for good”. At first, Elphaba’s love for Fiyero was unrequited, but she quickly got out of that. Eventually Fiyero and her got into a romantic relationship. She kept on trying to save lives, but when she tried to save Boq’s life by turning him into a tin man, he hated it, but the sad thing is that he didn’t realize he would have died if she didn’t turn him to tin. At one point in the story, Fiyero saved Elphaba’s life, but the consequence was that people wanted to torture him in the fields. Elphaba did the best she can to save him. She eventually learned that he was turned into a scarecrow and they eventually escaped OZ. Another time she saved a life was when she saw a scared lion cub in a cage, and put a spell on the class and ran out with the cage with Fiyero and they released him into the wild.

Those characteristics have nothing to do with the Wicked Witch of the West in “Wizard of OZ”. In this movie, she is portrayed as ugly with no good qualities and has a terrifying laugh. I feel as if the tin man and the scarecrow are not the same people in “Wicked” at all. I do not think that the tin man in “Wizard of OZ” was Boq or that the scarecrow was Fiyero. I read the book, “The Wizard of OZ”, and there was a different story to how the tin man became who he was and that was because of an enchanted ax. In “Wizard of OZ”, Elphaba and Glinda do not seem to have any sort of relationship with each other, which makes no sense at all. Even though I will always love the “Wizard of OZ”, “Wicked” will still have the better storytelling of the characters and the characteristics that I want to see.

 

Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

Leave a Reply

